So I already have the feeling that this post is going to be a rambling of thoughts and things. If I was better prepared, or wanted to put more time into a post, I could sort it all out, make it look pretty, edit it nicely so that this would come across as more accessible to readers. But I don’t want to do that.

I just want to get some thoughts out, write some things down, and call it a day.

And maybe post a few photos.

First thought:

I’ve been asked to possibly stay here until the end of 2017. Which sounds amazing to start off with, I’d get to be certified in a bunch of different areas, pay raise, get a chance to develop more in one company, all totally amazing things. But I also have other things I want to do.

The thing is, if I sign up for what would be a year and a half total, will I miss out on the other things I want to do? My constant fear in life is that I will never get to do all the things I want to do.

IMG_20160808_090553

Beautiful bay views I get to call home.

 

It sometimes keeps me up at night, I worry about making the wrong choices and not getting to do all that I want to in life. I worry that I’ll never have enough time to do everything I want, that I’ll miss out on something great if I commit myself to something long term. If I do commit to this year and a half, what other things will I be missing in my life? Will I still be able to travel and not worry about having a “real” career when I’m done? Will I be too old to do anything? Could I still live a travel lifestyle even though I’ll be older? My constant fear is that I’ll be too old to do the things I want.

It’s a struggle.

But then at the same time I know that it would be an amazing experience to stay here and learn more about guiding and climbing and living here. There would be more opportunities for me to be more involved in the company and it would be the longest term job I’ve held! I’m definitely going to have to think more about it.

20160813_095959

Climbing paradise.

Second Thought and more:

Now that I’ve rambled on enough about all of that, some other things!

It’s been an amazing week, although I seem to have caught a bit of a cold. Managed to get some fantastic climbing photos and our room a/c was fixed! After sweating though a few nights with just an unreliable fan, the a/c makes all the difference.

Although I did break the French Press this morning, nearly cried. It was a really sad moment, especially considering that it was brought all the way from the States when my parents came to visit. They lugged it al the way from Vermont and all around Vietnam only to have me break it because it slid off our toilet. A truly tragic moment. Now I’ll have to go back to using the coffee filters here, they don’t work nearly as well, leave bits of coffee in the mug, and don’t filter nearly enough coffee.

Big storm is on it’s way through as well. We’ve only lost power once so far, but I imagine it’ll happen a lot in the next few days. When it rains here, it really rains. The streets are still draining as of now, but I could see things flooding fairly quickly as well. It will be a very exciting next few days!

20160812_153440

Storm clouds rolling in.

 

I do love storms though, so can’t really complain about a whole lot!

Final Thoughts:

If you’re still reading up to this point, I’m very impressed. I should probably offer to buy a beer since you suffered through that jumble of a post, and here it’s pretty cheap, so maybe two beers. So cheers to making it this far, and to hoping you might come back and read some more.

 

 

Leave a Reply

