So for better or worse I’ve made a somewhat large purchase.

A somewhat large and expensive purchase.

It’s one of those things that I’ve thought about for years, one of those things that I always thought would be super cool to have. One of those things that would make me feel like a total badass. Every time I’d see someone with one, I’d always get that image of what it would be like to have one myself, to have that freedom and ability.

And now I have it.

Not even sure what year it is, but I am now the proud owner of a sweet Honda Win. The official vehicle of travellers in Vietnam.

13908866_10154553407648706_6835325748973114593_o

The official vehicle of Vietnam

I posted a photo on the usual social media sites, Facebook and Instagram, and was quickly told by a few friends and family members… and my manager, not to go and kill myself. No one has any faith in my abilities apparently. And save a burn on my right leg, I’ve not been terribly injured yet.

It’s pretty easy to operate, although getting it into neutral is a complete and utter pain in the ass. Hoping that I’ll figure out a trick for that in the very near future. It’s going to be a steep learning curve. Shifting is pretty good, she rattles a bit over the bumps, and sometimes I forget to turn on the lights at night. No close calls yet, but I have spent frustrating minutes trying to get her into that neutral position. If the electric start worked, it wouldn’t be a problem, but as it is Vietnam, you can do without it.

I bought her from another traveller who just happened to be at the same hostel and friend and I were at. We had headed there for a few beers and I mentioned I was looking for a bike. Josh mentioned he was looking to sell his. We took a look at it, I hadn’t a clue what to look for but it was a pretty blue color,and didn’t have any obvious problems. Not that I would have noticed any.

The next morning I was the owner of a sweet motorcycle.

Pretty positive all the guys I work with are just waiting for me to crash into something or for it to all go terribly wrong. I’ll admit my scooter skills aren’t all that great, so I understand the worry. But this thing seems just fine.

And if something does go wrong, it’s only 3 hours to the hospital!

2 thoughts on “Officially a Bike Owner

Leave a Reply

